Luke Davies’ first poetry collection Four Plots for Magnets was published by S. K. Kelen at Glandular Press in 1982, when Davies was twenty. Absolute Event Horizon (1994) was shortlisted for the Turnbull Fox Phillips Poetry Prize. Running with Light (1999) won the Judith Wright Poetry Prize at the Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards. Totem (2004) won both the Age Poetry Book of the Year and the overall Age Book of the Year prizes, the Grace Leven Prize, the John Bray Poetry Award at the South Australian Premier’s Awards, and the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal.

Interferon Psalms (2011) won the inaugural Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Poetry in 2012.

Davies’ novel Candy (1997) was filmed to his screenplay in 2006 by director Neil Armfield. His other novels are Isabelle the Navigator (2000) and God of Speed (2008).

His film criticism has appeared for many years in The Monthly.